May My Glam Bag

16 May

So overall, May has been a very disappointing month for my beauty/sample subscriptions. So far I’ve received the worst Beauty Bar box to date and I was suuuuper bummed about my Gossip Girl Birchbox – I’m pretty sure I got the worst one out of the bunch!

Unfortunately, My Glam didn’t turn the trend around and I have decided to cancel the service. Here’s what I got…

Philosophy Love Sweet Love Spray Fragrance¬†- UGH I’m so over perfume samples. I can get these for free just walking around Macy’s. While this particular fragrance doesn’t smell offensive, it smells kind of sweet and cheap in a Bath & Body Works sort of way.

Miss Beauty Nail Bling – I can’t find any information on this online, so I don’t know what the retail is. They’re nail stickers, but in an awful rhinestone looking design with a pink heart. I don’t think I would wear this unless I was in elementary school…

Studio Gear Complete Color Lipstick¬†- Ok so here is my first swatch! The first thing I thought was “this looks appropriate for fall, but not spring/summer!” Then I looked at the shade name and it is AUTUMN RED!! These lipsticks retail for $15 on the Studio Gear site, but this shade is on sale for $7.50. That is super disappointing. I was looking at what other people got in their bags and it looks like all of the shades they received were on sale too. Obviously the company is just trying to get rid of them. As far as the lipstick, it feels moisturizing and comfortable enough, but this really isn’t a color I would pick for myself. Too brick red and again, too AUTUMN. There is also a slight lipstick-y taste that I’m not particularly fond of.

myglam Concealer and Defining Eyeliner Brush -¬†The final 2 things in the bag were these makeup brushes. Honestly, the only reason I didn’t cancel last month is because I was hoping to complete this makeup brush collection. It’s not like I love the brushes or anything, but I just wanted the full set because I am OCD like that.

Well, that’s the end of My Glam for me. What’s your favorite subscription service?

2 Responses to “May My Glam Bag”

  1. Lai May 17, 2012 at 9:31 am #

    I never knew you subscribed to those monthly clubs. I’ve heard of Birch Box but never saw the need for it. If you purchase enough make-up from Sephora’s website you end up with quite a few samples. Also, Ulta has fun samples. Lately, I’ve ditched Sephora and splurged on Lush products.

    • jennifer May 17, 2012 at 3:59 pm #

      You know, I like it just because I like getting a surprise “gift” in the mail every month. They can be hit or miss month to month. I never really got into Lush… their stores just smell so overwhelming that I rarely go in!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

